A week after running with the sheep, er, I mean, sheep trailing the pain has subsided and my legs are working again. Thank goodness!

Last week I mentioned we were bringing the sheep off the mountain and back to the ranch. Let’s just say I unintentionally ran/walked a half marathon on Sunday. No one told me the sheep would run for the first few miles and keep a fast paced walk the whole time. It wouldn’t have been a big deal if I wasn’t in worse shape than the sheep and if I didn’t have to stay ahead of 2,000 of them! That’s a lot of pressure!

After mile 3ish, the sheep started to slow down. I took this time to catch my breath and take in my surroundings. It’s really beautiful in this part of the country. While on my (power) walk I thought of lyrics to a song I heard recently, If God wasn’t born in Colorado, I’m sure he spends most of his time here. 


While walking down the highway, flagging oncoming traffic to let them know there view is about to look like this:

Deer would stop to check me out. Once they realized I was just an out-of-shape female they continued to eat their greens.  Horses in nearby pastures ran up to the fence to see what was going on and what all the baa-ing was about. Cows began moo-ing as the sheep passed and dogs barked and barked. It was as if they were talking to each other it felt like I was in an episode of Babe.

 Around mile 12 I saw the open fence at the ranch. It was open and ready for the sheep! It was so neat to see all of the sheep file onto the green grass and eat. It’s as if they knew they were home. These animals live such a great life.

Flagging was fun and I’ve already (been) signed up for next year. I’ll make sure I’m better prepared. 

 Happy everyone made it home safely,
A Rancher’s Wife

Everybody's home! Sunday at 1 p.m.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
A Rancher’s Wife:         

I am not where I am today because my plan went the way I hoped but because of unexpected events. And ‘ve learned that is what life is…just a bunch of unexpected events. Nothing ever goes to plan. And for me that has been a very good thing.

 

Born and raised in Southern California I thought I would live my entire life in the city.

  
 My life changed the day I met my husband. I think what intrigued me most about him was that he lived such a different life. His dad was/is a sheep rancher and he grew up in the country..unpaved roads, knowing all your neighbors, no street lights kind of country and here he was in the city making movies in California.    

A Rancher's Wife

We moved from California to Colorado (his home state) and lived in Boulder for almost 5 years. During that time we were married and in August of 2010 my father in law had a bad fall. He tore ligaments in his shoulder and was put in a sling until surgery could be performed. While in a sling he felt a lump in his breast. Cancer. Between the shoulder injury and chemo treatments it would be months maybe years before he’d be able to work on the ranch again. 

His parents asked us if we would take over the operation. Within weeks J and I quit our jobs and took our things down south.

 

Making ranch life cool. One post at a time.

A Rancher’s Wife

