When I met my wife for the first time, little did I know that this gal was the one for me. The more I got to know her the more I kept falling for her. If you have ever met her you already know why.

I don’t think we could have grown up further apart from each other and still be in the same state and at the same time have been raised with the same values and goals. Asking a rancher’s daughter from the mountains to move to a farm town where the wind blows as much outside as it does in the coffee shop, was a lot to ask, but she did it. She quickly found a good job in town so that she could support my habit!

I can’t tell you everything that she does because that would take up too many pages, but she is an accountant by day and farmwife and mother by night. She is always giving me a hard time about not really working, but as I sit here and think about it, she is probably right. Most farmers, given the choice of either planting corn or being the go’for (go for seed, go for fertilizer, go for fuel…) will always choose to run the tractor, because we all know that the go’for works twice as hard.

This is where My Farmwife has me beat hands down. I ask myself everyday how I was the farmer lucky enough to marry an accountant, a mom, a cook, a chauffeur, an organizer, custodian, a model, and many more that are all wrapped up into one person who I am proud to call My Farmwife.

About the Weathers:    

Nathan and Nikki Weathers are from Yuma County Colorado.  They met at a Young Farmer & Rancher event while Nathan was serving on the State Committee and Nikki was the Collegiate Farm Bureau President in 2006.  They were married in the Spring of 2007.

Nikki was raised on a cattle ranch in South West Colorado where her family raised registered Angus and Hereford Cattle.  Her love for cattle was known at an early age when she began showing steers and breeding cattle all across the country.  She continued her love for agriculture majoring in Ag Business and Animal Science at Colorado State University.  She is currently the Energy Accountant for CHS M&M Cooperative in Yuma.

Nathan was raised on a grain farm in Yuma County.  He always enjoyed riding around with his father learning about corn and wheat.  As he grew up he got more involved in the farm work and learned that this is what he was meant to do.  After majoring in Ag Business and Soil and Crop Sciences from Colorado State University he returned to the farm to help with the family operation.

The Weathers family, Nathan’s parents Byron and LaLani and Nathan and Nikki, currently farm 1,800 acres of irrigated and 1,000 acres of dry land. Of the irrigated corn ground, 1,200 acres is chopped for silage while 600 acres is picked for grain.  Because of our arid climate, the dry land is rotated between corn and wheat.  They also operate a custom planting business where they plant an additional 1,500-2,500 acres of corn for neighbors every year.

Nikki and Nathan were both CSU Collegiate Farm Bureau Presidents.  Nathan was on the State Committee for four years and was the YF&R Chairman serving on the State board for two years.  Nathan currently serves as the County President and the Vice- Chair of the state’s water committee.

In their spare time they enjoy traveling the country.  They love to attend baseball games.  When not traveling, it is fun to spend time with good friends and family.  The Weathers are the proud parents of their first child Ty who was born in October 2010.

 

