Me and Caden with the snack-size, Farm Fun Barbie Board. Note: the size of the board and the size of the boar. And the boots. And the fact that he's wearing shorts and I'm wearing short sleeves...in Colorado...in March. Did you see the boots? You can be jealous of my style, I don't mind.

Momma said there would be days like this.

The good news is that I didn’t spill my iced tea when I fell on my face in front of Loaf n Jug today. My head didn’t bleed when I forgot just how tall the inside of the stock trailer is and the bleeding on my hand has just about stopped.

Momma should have named me Grace.

Given my cat-like relexes and unparallelled shows of athleticism today, it was a fabulous day to load hogs to go to the sale barn. When sows and boars aren’t doing their job and producing quality litters of piglets, we cull them, or send them to the sale barn. Today was the day for six of them.

I wasn’t exactly planning to load hogs today but, as often happens, I found myself in weird combinations of clothing paired with rubber boots. Today was one of those times. Luckily, my pink polka dotted rubber boots complimented the capri pants I was vaccuuming my living room in when I dropped everything to load hogs.

It’s not that sows and boars are, shall we say, fickle, but when they aren’t feeling cooperative, it’s an uphill battle with a large and in-charge hog. Whee. (Read: sarcasm) About the time I was trying to load three head of hogs,  tipping the scales at over 500 pounds a piece, I looked down at my hog board (a handy little piece of molded plastic that keeps hogs from mowing me down when their vision is blocked by the board and those cat-like reflexes I mentioned.)and I was armed with the small board Caden uses with his much smaller market hogs.

I started to make a joke about my snack-size, Farm Fun Barbie board when a sow hit the board, the panel, and both me and Jason. I would like to tell you that I was quick on my feet and efficient. I wasn’t. I did take my Barbie Board, ran the sow down the fence and right into the trailer like a regular pig whisperer.

I think it was the boots.

