I’ve sat in many a meeting over the past few years and heard the old, familiar lament. “There’s just no young people coming back to the farm/ranch/small town. Through my involvement with Colorado Farm Bureau, we’ve been working hard to put to gether a social outlet for young people interested in agriculture in our area. We set a date for our Supper Club shindig-Oct. 29 in Hugo at 6 p.m. at the fairgrounds. We’ll have food, babysitters and beer. It’s sure to be a good time.

I felt rather smug when I headed to the post office with 80 invitations this week. 80! Eighty young people, most from Lincoln County and all involved in agriculture! That’s huge.

I’m looking forward to having good news for the folks at future meetings who complain about the disapperaing young people. We’re here! You just can’t see us from the road.

