Goodbye, Baroness.

With the loss of former Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher this morning, I have been in a funk. Thatcher, the Iron Lady, was an irreplaceable leader and conservative who cast a long shadow but never forgot her humble roots from her spot on high. I have long admired Thatcher for her long list of memorable quotes and the one I often think of is, “I am in politics because of the conflict between good and evil, and I believe that in the end good will triumph.”

I believe that, too.

“Ladies and gentlemen, I stand before you tonight in my Red Star chiffon evening gown. My face softly made up and my fair hair gently waved. The Iron Lady of the Western world. A cold war warrior, an amazon philistine, even a Peking plotter. Well, am I any of these things? … Yes I am an iron lady, after all it wasn’t a bad thing to be an iron duke. Yes, if that’s how they wish to interpret my defence of values and freedoms fundamental to our way of life.” – 1976, speech to Finchley Conservatives.

What a role model the world has lost.

