The 51st State Initiative has been an interesting movement to watch develop. As the Facebook presence urged residents of my county to sign a petition, I couldn’t help but watch and wait. Many comments on the page tend to be laced with suspicion of liberals and excitement of impending freedom.

Others have taken the opportunity to illustrate the flag of the proposed state featuring a bible, guns, an oil rig, and momma, I’m sure.

I love my momma, too, but this is a stab at conservative Colorado that isn’t representative of rural Coloradoans.

I am as annoyed with the lack of representation rural Colorado has experienced as anyone but rural Colorado seceding is nothing more than a statement.

If you’re truly concerned with the direction our state is heading then now is the time to become involved. There are a million ways to become involved that carry much more weight and influence than signing a Facebook petition.

